Friend’s

29 10 2007

I’ve had a lot of reason to think of my friends lately.  Here’s the reason.  If you had asked me less than a year ago if I had any enemies, I would have told you flat out no.  Maybe that was a little naive but I believed it to be true.  Now, however, that situation has turned a little.  And I ‘m not just talking about what a lot of people will assume when they read this.  It’s more than that.  Oh well, that’s life right?

But then I got to thinking about my friends and family, of which I have way more than I could have ever imagined.   I particularly wanted to write about a few of them today. 

Let’s start with the two best friends that I have in the world (Like OMG they are my BFF).  Whoa, excuse me.  It was almost like my body was taken over by a teenage girl for second.  I have an unearthly desire to run to Juicy Couture.  Hold on while I shake that!!!  Ok, whew.  Jared and Dewayne.  Both of these guy’s stood as my best men at my wedding. Just because one has to be listed first and one second let me tell you a little about these guys.

Jared: We met when we were both still in diapers.  Our parents were friends and we became best friends.  Jared is a funny cat.  No one can make me laugh quite as hard as he can.  If you think that I’m sarcastic you would be amazed at how sarcastic he can be with just a look.  We’ve spent Christmas’s, vacations, summers and many more things together.  We’ve double dated, made fun of each others “significant other” ruthlessly(jared has often made fun of his own, but that’s another story) prayed, cried, and done just about everything two friends can do together.  Each June was spent in Lufkin running through mud puddles, swimming in sewage ponds, throwing mud at girls on their way to church, breaking into the concession stand, throwing mashed potatoes on Sis. Bible’s brand new curtains (thank Bro. Wheeler), climbing the Tabernacle, the dining hall, riding bikes in the Tabernacle, and many other things. Snow skiing was always a highlight.   Unfortunately, we don’t get to spend a lot of time together right now.  We’re both busy with our lives,  Jared goes to law school in Baton Rouge (Red Stick for those of you who don’t speak French) and I’m here in Sunny California.  We talk quite a bit though and I still carry a handwritten note from Jared that he gave me over two years ago.  It meant a lot then and it means a lot now.

Dewayne: We grew up together.  Have very different back grounds yet became close friends very fast.  We’re more like brothers than friends which is hilarious if you know Dewayne and me.  I can’t tell you how many times we have fought.  And I mean knock down, fist in the eye, grinding each others face in the east Texas mud fought.  But if there was anyone who ever had my back it’s Dew.  I know  that there is not a person in the world who would throw down quicker than him if someone was bad mouthing me.  Dewayne won’t lie just to make you feel better.  He tells you exactly what he is thinking and he pulls no punches.  His is the only house that I ever wanted to go to for a stay over.  We played and played and fought and played till we just about died.  The last year has been especially trying for the both of us.  Sometimes he propped me up, sometimes I propped him up.  He never had to ask and neither did I.  He was out just a few months ago and we laughed so hard that my stomach was hurting(I think that mom posted a blog about us a few months ago complete with pic’s if you’re interested)

 I love both of these guys and that doesn’t even begin to cover all the other guys and gals who I’m lucky to be able to call my friend’s.  Greg(my older brother), Jeremy, Josh, Glenn, T’neil, Darren, Jason, Brandon, Brent and the list is so much longer.

I don’t have time or space right now to write about my family.  That rather maudlin post will have to be a little later.  I’ll just say that I love everyone of them.  Even Danelle when she’s in a bad mood. 

Take time to tell you’re friends and family how much they mean to you.  Hope you all have a great day.  Talk to you later.  

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 10 2007
dewayne

wow…never thought of it like that before. You’re my ace man, #1.

“I gotcha back fo’ life big homieee!” ::a stab at being “hood”::

1 11 2007
jared

Wow, that means a lot to me Than. I really miss hanging out with you man…people (including myself) could learn a lot about what it means to be a good friend from you

15 05 2008
Alopro

Business opportunity for self motivated people that can work from home
marketing a range of Aloe Vera
Products. Earn unlimited funds by developing your own sales distributors in
any World markets.

Please visit us.

http://www.mlm-mall.com/

Leave a Reply

