After Thanksgiving

23 11 2007

It’s the Friday after Thanksgiving and I may never eat again.  I ate, then I ate again, and then I ate again.  Turkey, ham, stuffing, mashed potatoes, corn, homemade yeast rolls, apple pie, pumpkin pie, oatmeal cookies, chocolate chip cookies and sweet tea.  And that was just the first helping.  Then I made myself some little turkey and ham sandwiches with the leftovers and the yeast rolls.  And then I did it again.  Whew.  If I don’t stop I will end up being 350 pounds before the holiday season is over.  Seriously, from 225 to over 3 bills in a hurry.  Oh well it was worth it. 

I have no smooth segue into this next part so here it goes.  I have so much to be thankful for and during this holiday season I have made a vow to remember all of it.  I have a fantastic family, great friends and an entire church that loves and believes in me.  I have a great job,  I make good money and enjoy both the job and the people that I work with.  But more than any of that, I have a great relationship with God.  It’s better now than it has ever been.  It’s funny how trials will do that to you. During the last year I have relied almost soley upon God just to make it day to day.  And he has always been there.  It has been amazing to me just to feel and truly know that God cares.  I’ve really experienced that this year and am so thankful for all that He has done. 

After we had ate for the first time I drove up to the top of Fremont Peak to sit and think about all of the good things that are in my life.  As I watched the sun set into Monterey Bay on a perfect day I was overwhelmed by all of it.  I took a look out at the perfect day and just took a little while to talk to God and thank Him for keeping me and giving me peace throughout the last year.  It was a really awesome feeling to feel God wrap his arms around me again, and just to know that everything in my life will work out like it should. 

Hopefully all of ya’ll had as great as a Thanksgiving as I did.  I hope that you were surrounded by family and friends and laughed and laughed until you cried.  However, I hope that you took at least a few moments to thank God for the last year, no matter if it was good or bad. 

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 11 2007
Karla Holley

‘than – I am thankful for you! You are an inspiration to us all. I love you and I’m proud of the man you are!

Love, Aunt Karla

24 11 2007
Linda

Nathaniel, I’m so happy you had such a great day and a wonderful time talking to your best FRIEND! God definitely loves you and thinks you’re great! I love you bunches!

Leave a Reply

