Sackcloth and Ashes!

14 01 2008

The world is a brutal place!!  Here I sit this morning wearing sackcloth and with ashes smeared over my face.   This is the biblical way to show that someone is in mourning.  In fact the definition of sackcloth read, a garment made of coarse sacking; formerly worn as an indication of remorse!!  Why you may ask have I resorted to such extreme measures?  The Dallas Cowboys have ripped out my heart once again!!

I was born and raised in Texas and for as long as I can remember my blood has been tinged with the silver and blue of the aforementioned Dallas Cowboys!  In the 90’s Cowboy fever ran extremely high.  They were the first team in NFL history to ever win 3 Super Bowls in 4 years.  Alas, they have fallen on hard times.  A franchise record 12 seasons has now passed since they have even won a playoff game.  Surely, oh surely they would end the drought this year and whip the hapless New York Giants, that hated team from the Big Apple.  It was not meant to be.  They controlled the game, the clock and still could not muster a victory!!  Was it a product of the bye week, T.O’s balky ankle, Tony Romo’s vacation in Cabo or Wade Phillips “light touch” coaching style?  We may never know the answer to these questions!!  All I know is that the world was a much darker place today!

It is hard to survive such catastrophic events.  One must look to the heavens and trust that God knows what he is doing.  Even in these hard times I still place my trust in the Lord.  He is my strong tower and my refuge!  But, it is a long road to recovery.  Training camp doesn’t even begin until August and the playoffs are a year a way.  I’ve been listening this morning to the song “I Will Survive”.  I am playing it like a mantra and hoping that there is something in that song that will resonate and allow me to continue on with my life.  Right now it’s just one foot in front of the other.  I’ll take it one day at a time and see what happens, although I have already been told that the mourning period must be completed by Thursday. 

As the little boy who was being dragged out of church by his mother to receive discipline said to the congregation, “Pray saints Pray”!!

P.S.(post script for all of you who have never actually known what it means)

A little tidbit that has be circulating in my office.  “A lack of planning on your part does not necessarily constitute an emergency on my part!!”  

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 01 2008
Gene Holley

I know what you mean. My family is hurting today. I know that the more days that pass, the easier the pain will be to bear, but it doesn’t make it any better for TODAY!

Only time can heal a wound this deep!

14 01 2008
Karla Holley

Well… I’d have to say this loss was partly due to the fact that Crayton dropped the ball twice at very crucial points! AND… the special teams and defense stayed at home to watch the game instead of showing up to actually play!!

Yes – as my husband said, this is a painful subject right now, but it will get easier as time goes on. There is always next year!!!

GO COWBOYS!!!

Crayton has a way of engaging his mouth before his brain and all of his talking came back to bite him! That drop on third down was ridiculous. The Cowboys didn’t deserve to win that game and I think that they thought they did and that’s what did them in. Special teams and penalties have killed us all year and it was not different on Sunday. They took some of the dumbest penaties I’ve seen in a long time! 3 personal foul’s. 3!!!!!

15 01 2008
Chandra

you crack me up.

Thanks. I enjoy your blog as well. Very funny stuff!

16 01 2008
Jana Allard

We weren’t Giant fans until Sunday. Wait………… Did I just say the wrong thing?

I’m afraid that I can’t allow you on my blog any longer!! It may have been your negative cheering that tipped the balance. Thanks for taking pleasure in my heart ache;(

16 01 2008
Monica Hassas

I didn’t get a chance to tell you on Saturday night at Jason West’s party, but I totally enjoy reading your blog – you are too much!

I too, am sad about the Cowboys. My brother and I have been fans since we were little, although we have been raised in CA. Maybe next year?!

Thanks Monica. Take care.

16 01 2008
Tyler Sullivan

Bro…..dont do anything drastic…..go to Chipotle….whats your opinion on Farve? Too old or just needs to keep on playing?

I’m now officially pulling for “old man winter” Brett Favre!! The grizzled veteran! Do I sound like John Madden yet? As long as he can play like he’s played this year he can hang around for as long as he want’s. He’s so much fun to watch play the game. He’s always smiling.

16 01 2008
Jana Allard

Listen – put down the gun. Now slowly descend from the bridge railing. We have medicine to make you feel better. It will be okay. Remember you have a good mother and she wants to see you…..it willllll be okay……..your daddy is praying for you right now…………have faith. The sun will shine again, hopefully. 🙂

Actually my parents are in the same boat as I am. We are all fans!! The sun is a long way from shining again.

18 01 2008
Jana Allard

Hey, I’ll say 100 “Hail Mary’s” for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

