Oops!

22 04 2008





In 1986, Dan Harrison (pictured above) was on holiday in Kenya after graduating from Northwestern University

On a hike through the bush, he came across a young bull elephant standing with one leg raised in the air. The elephant seemed distressed, so Dan approached it very carefully.

He got down on one knee and inspected the elephant’s foot and found a large piece of wood deeply embedded in it. As carefully and as gently as he could, Dan worked the wood out with his hunting knife, after which the elephant gingerly put down its foot.

The elephant turned to face the man, and with a rather curious look on its face, stared at him for several tense moments. Dan stood frozen, thinking of nothing else but being trampled. Eventually the elephant trumpeted loudly, turned, and walked away.

Dan never forgot that elephant or the events of that day.

Twenty years later, Dan was walking through the Chicago Zoo with his teenaged son. As they approached the elephant enclosure, one of the creatures turned and walked over to near where Dan and his son Dan Jr. were standing.

The large bull elephant stared at Dan, lifted its front foot off the ground, and then put it down. The elephant did that several times then trumpeted loudly, all the while staring at the man. Remembering the encounter in 1986, Dan couldn’t help wondering if this was the same elephant.

Dan summoned up his courage, climbed over the railing and made his way into the enclosure. He walked right up to the elephant and stared back in wonder. The elephant trumpeted again, wrapped its trunk around one of Dan’s legs and slammed him against the railing, killing him instantly.

Probably wasn’t the same elephant!

Actions

Information

12 responses

22 04 2008
Ryan Austin Dean

Dude, I promise you people in the office were just wondering why I was laughing so loudly. HILARIOUS!

I almost couldn’t post it I was laughing so hard. I’m glad that there is someone out there who enjoys the same type of “humor” that I do! I’m just saying.

22 04 2008
Karla Holley

That’s terrible!!!

That’s funny right there!

23 04 2008
Josh Tredway

I was really thinking that this story was going to have a real inspirational ending…and I get to the end and the elephant kills the man. I have to say this was funny in a weird way. Thanks for making me laugh.

Very rarely will you find anything inspirational on this blog. You will find some things that will make you laugh though. Glad you enjoyed it!

23 04 2008
iluv2prshim

HILARIOUS!!! I thought I would bust it when I read the last line. Nope! “Probably not the same elephant”! ROTF

Yeah, probably not the same elephant!

23 04 2008
Jana

I thought a sentimental side of you was showing and I was grabbing the Kleenex for this tear-jerker story when all of a sudden I found myself on the floor in hysterics. Probably wasn’t the same elephant! LOL 🙂

Jana, like I told Josh, it will be a rare day when you find the inspirational on this blog. Glad you got a laugh.

23 04 2008
Tyler Sullivan

HA! Dude I was like “what an awesome story” . Then my emotions were shattered when I read the last part. lol Stupid Stupid Dan. What do you say to the people in line waiting to ride the elephants then?

“ummmmmm……………………next”?

Funny dude

It is funny! Not sure that I’ll be riding any elephants any time soon!

24 04 2008
Kassie Dutton

LOL Very funny….

Glad you enjoyed!

25 04 2008
Tena

Okay, I’m seriously worried about myself. Everyone, except Karla (whew!) thought this was funny.
I thought it was terrible and SAD! 😦

NO, this is funny. Repeat after me, this is funny!

25 04 2008
Jolene Mendoza

OK, I guess I have a sick sense of humor. I couldn’t help but laugh when I read the last line. My daughter said I’m terrible. So be it, I’m terribble! (giggle, giggle, snicker snicker) 😀

Jolene, what’s wrong with your daughter. This is funny stuff!!

26 04 2008
Carla Clark

TOO FUNNY!!! When I need a good laugh, I visit your blog!

I’m here for your comic relief!!

28 04 2008
Kevin Hopper

That last line is just fantastic! I don’t think he will do that again! LOL!!

Probably not, huh!!

8 05 2008
Danelle

HAHAHAHA!!! THAN, I was all teary eyed, seriously, CRYING and hah, you got me good!! I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time !

Leave a Reply

