Eh!?

16 05 2008

I have long believed that there are more people in the world with “below average” intelligence than there are with “above average” intelligence.  While doing my morning reading and browsing through the online newspapers that I like to look at I came across the following article that proves my point.  

Man uses gun for backscratcher, shoots himself

 

01:43 PM CDT on Tuesday, May 13, 2008

 

By KIMBERLY DURNAN / The Dallas Morning News

 

A Fort Worth man trying to scratch an itch on his back used a revolver and accidentally shot himself.

Jorge Espinal, 44, was drinking beer and playing poker around 3 a.m. Sunday in his home in the 3500 block of Montague Street, when he got up from the table and walked into another room, said Fort Worth police Lt. Kenneth Dean.

“He told officers he had an itch on his back and grabbed the first thing he could get a hold of, which was a revolver,” Lt. Dean said. “The gun went off.”

Mr. Espinal went back and told his buddies that he shot himself. “They didn’t believe him until they saw the blood coming down his back,” Lt. Dean said.

Mr. Espinal was taken to an area hospital, where he was treated and released with non-life-threatening injuries.

 

All I can say is WOW!!!

Actions

Information

6 responses

16 05 2008
ryanaustindean

Man…that WOULD happen in Texas.

Just when we Southerners feel like we’ve made up some ground the perceived intelligence arena, some poker-playing Texan has to shoot himself in the back.

Well, I’m glad that it is you and not me that have to make up that “perceived” intelligence deficit.

16 05 2008
faithmarialopez

Wow, if I ever had that bad of an itch I think I might use something else otherwise there would be no more me!

M

17 05 2008
linda

LOL! Big, bad, tough TEXAN! “In TEXAS…when WE have an itch we just pick up our gun and scratch it!” LOL! That’s too funny. I live here and proud of it, but sometimes a person has to shake their head at the “spirit of stupid” that is in our world! 🙂 thanks for bringing a smile to my day.

17 05 2008
Jana

Wonder if all those poker players were bald and therefore a hairbrush wasn’t handy?!?!

Somethings wrong with this story. He scratched so hard he pulled the trigger? The other guys didn’t hear the gun go off and he had to tell them he was shot? Or was he cheating and one of the other guys shot at him?

Oh, never mind. This isn’t CSI. I never cease to be amazed at the level of stupidity that floods our nation.

20 05 2008
Jolene Mendoza

I was just wondering the same thing. Why did he HAVE to tell them he shot himself? Did he have a silencer on the gun? Were they all deaf or what? How could they not have heard the gun go off? Hmmmm……Where is Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys? Somethings wrong with this story.

22 05 2008
James Wilder

I tend to believe that there are more intelligent humans in the world that unintelligent ones. But this story makes for a GREAT exception – WOW.

I beg to differ. Go take some kind of IQ survey with you to the mall and see how many “average” scores you get. I will guarantee you that it will be less that 40%!!!

Leave a Reply

