Just a few thoughts(not the random kind)

18 07 2008

I’m usually one of the biggest proponents of political correctness going way way too far.  I think that the media has gone overboard in trying not to offend anybody.  But……there are just some words and phrases that should never be used.  These words are confrontational, hurtful, and demeaning and should never be used in polite conversation by anybody.  It doesn’t matter to me if you think you have the right.  There are some words that should just never be used.  I’m tired of the debates of “I can say it because I’m part of the group that the word is about” but “you can’t use it because then it would be a slur or a bad thing”.   Nobody should ever use those words again.  Go back, find out what the original use of the word means and then tell me if you feel comfortable using it. 

Now, on to politics.  I’m not going to tell you how to vote.  Nor am I going to tell  you how I vote.  The speaker of the house, Nancy Pelosi, just called President Bush “a complete disaster”.  I would say that I have been disappointed with many of the decisions that have been made over the last 8 years.  But it just seems a little harsh to call anyone who has dedicated their life to the service of their country “a complete disaster”.  I find it so hard to believe that the founding fathers would be proud at the level of rhetoric that has arisen in our country’s politics.  I’m tired of the two parties.  Democrats.  Republicans.  Ugh!  You would think that the people who run our country would be able to rise above their differences for the good of the people they govern.   Does this happen?  Only in the most dire of times.  I feel like when I listen to the news or watch a political show that I’m watching a group of 5th graders argue over who gets to play on the swing set first.  Actually, I need to apologize to the 5th graders.  I wouldn’t want to compare anyone to the people who are running our country.  Is anyone else a little upset at the complete lack of self control that the “leaders” of our country show? 

I think I know how to win the war on terror.  This would be my foreign policy if I ran the country.  You treat me like you want me to treat you!  If you attack the United States of America we will respond in kind.  If you want us to support you in the peaceful pursuit of nuclear energy, infrastructure, health care and democracy we will do our best to provide you with the tools to succeed.  But if you want to posture and tell the world that we are the great Satan of the world and you then back those actions up by inciting terrorism we will bomb you back into the Stone Age.  I think that if we just put it out there like that the world would be a much better place.  The whole, “walk softly and carry a big stick” foreign policy. 

I can’t wait for my vacation.  Just a few more weeks until I can sleep in and not worry about what happens at the office!  Yea for Than!

Actions

Information

One response

22 07 2008
Jana Allard

My vote – – – – – – -THAN FOR PRES!!!

Leave a Reply

