At work on a Holiday??? Ugh!

13 10 2008

I noticed as I was driving to work this morning that the traffic was lighter than normal.  Instead of the usual 1 hour and 15 minutes that it usually takes me it only took 54 minutes.  Startling really!  Especially on a Monday.  Then I remembered….it’s a holiday!  Today is the day we celebrate that most intrepid of all explorers, Christopher Columbus!  I cannot believe that I had forgotten such an erstwhile man and the day dedicated to his remembrance.  Oh and then the guilt that I was working and not celebrating his amazing journey across the sea!  Well, I’ll tell you that it was almost stifling.  I immediately turned off the radio and pulled off to the side of the road for a moment of reflection dedicated to good old Chris!  The good captain of the Nina, Pinta, and the Santa Maria.  How could you work on such an important day?  To tell you the truth I’m struggling through it.  Hopefully I will be able to take some time later this afternoon and reflect on the greatness of Christopher Columbus and the great king and queen of Spain who made it all worthwhile. 

We are finally getting some relief in the markets today.  We’ll see if it will last.  Personally I have my doubts that we are in for anything other than a long and painful restructuring of the economy as we know it, and while I don’t want anyone to suffer, I do think we will be better for having suffered a little. 

SWBC starts in 10 days.  Once again I will tell you that it is a life changing experience.  If you don’t believe me then come check it out for yourself.  When’s the last time you had your life changed radically for only $50 plus what you spend on food?  That’s a pretty cheap price to pay to alter your view of the world as we know it. 

On that same note, I’m super excited.  No really super duper excited.  I can’t wait.  It’s going to be nifty (my new favorite word) to say the least.  Nifty nifty nifty.  How can you not feel good after saying that word three times in a row?  Nifty nifty nifty!  It even takes the sting out of working on a national holiday. 

A quick shout out to The Pentecostal Church.  You guys have been amazing to work with in getting ready for SWBC 08.  Not only have you sacrificed financially but also with your very valuable time and energy.  I know that there are great things in store for us! 

There’s a part of me that wishes I was at General Conference this year.  I haven’t been in a while.  But then I remember the large crowds, eating late at night and the heartburn that brings, smiling at people that I don’t even know until my face hurts and trying to remember people’s names that I haven’t seen in years and suddenly I’m not so bummed!  I’m pretty happy to be here in NoCal during the fall.  There is obviously no perfect situation but this has to be as close as it gets. 

Today I checked the weather before I hopped out of the warm embrace of my bed and guess what!! It was only 39 degrees fahrenheit.  Sorry for all of you Canadiens, I can’t do the adjustment to the metric celsius in my head!  So what did I do?  I pulled out the old sweater of course!  First sweater of the fall on October 13th!  Oh happy day, oh happy day when I get to wear my sweaters.  Pretty sure I’m gonna have to rock the sweater vest this year too!  Good old argyle socks and sweaters!  It can’t be beat!  I told you all before and I say it again….I’m ninety in a late twenties body!

I hope you all have a great week.  Let’s chat again soon!

Actions

Information

One response

14 10 2008
Tena

I like your argyle socks. 😀

I think that when I am sitting on the platform with my legs crossed that people pay more attention to my socks than they should! My sister keeps making comments regarding them!

Leave a Reply

