Time for reflection

5 11 2008

Those of you who know me know that I am not given to deep introspection!  I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants guy.  I don’t stop to smell the flowers very often.  I live a very busy life and I love it, but the facts are that it is not condusive to stopping and taking stock often.  Today is my birthday.  Yea for than, ok ok.  That’s enough.  I’m not writing this for birthday wishes, although send your cash directly to my wallet!  I turn 27 today.   I have lived almost 3 decades now and I have the gray hair to prove it.  My 27 years have been filled with happiness, a lot of love, heartbreak, and all of the other things that every other person who is born and lives a reasonable amount of time experience.  My life has been better than some and no doubt maybe a little rougher than others.  All in all I can’t complain at all.  I have a great family who loves me, even my sister, haha!  I have some of the best friends in the world.  I have a great church family.  I have a job that I actually look forward to going to everyday, even though it’s very stressful at times.  It’s a pretty good life.  I’m happy, content, in the perfect will of God and happy….did I mention that? 

I have regrets.  Sure, everyone does.  I wish that I had finished college and not stopped.  I made some poor decisions when I was a little younger that sent me on paths I should have never walked down.  I opened myself up to things that changed my life and not in a good way.  However, I am the sum of my experiences.  Who I am, for better or worse, is because of what I have gone through, been defeated by or overcome!  I have lived, loved, lost, laughed, cried, yelled, screamed with excitement, seen many cool things and had some of the greatest experiences you could ever want to have.  I’ve seen the Grand Canyon, the Atlantic and Pacific Ocean, the Caribbean, some of the greatest cities in the world, Yosemite, Old Faithful, Yellowstone, the Rocky and Sierra Nevada Mountains, etc. 

On to other things.  I’m so glad that the election is over.  I’m not going to tell you if I was happy or upset with the results.  You don’t need to know.  I did enjoy watching history being made.  Can you imagine the emotion you would have experienced last night if you were an African American who went through the Civil Rights Era.  I can’t.  I know that several times I teared up watching the emotions play across people’s faces last night.  Whether you agree with President Elect Barack Obama or not is no longer the issue.  He will be our President in January and he deserves, at the very least, our prayers and a chance to prove himself as a leader for this great nation.  The United States of America and it’s ideals were validated last night with the first ever election of a minority to the highest office in the land.  I do so hope that he will prove worthy of the trust that this nation has put in him.  I’m a little skeptical but I’m willing to give the man a shot.  I hope and pray that you will as well.

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 11 2008
Melissa Reighard

Happy Birthday, Nathaniel!

To my former babysitter….Thanks. LOL!

5 11 2008
Linda

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, NATHANIEL! I already told you on your mom’s blog, but wanted to stop by and say it to you. I enjoyed this post very much. Life is full of twists and turns, but that’s what makes it exciting to live. Just a thought…..LOVE YOU A LOT!

Love ya too. See ya next week! Thanks for the kind words.

5 11 2008
Cheryl S.

Happy Birthday, Nathaniel.

Thanks Sis. Cheryl.

6 11 2008
Jana Allard

WOW! What a post! I think you have a pretty good perspective about life. It does have turns, twists, unexpected disappointments and blessings. The best part is knowing the sun continues to shine regardless of how many clouds are in the sky. I just read your mom’s blog and I could certainly relate. I feel towards Bryce the same way your mom feels about you. I hope you had a great birthday full of love, laughter, and life! You deserve it.

Thank you for all of the kind words. I had a great birthday!

6 11 2008
James Wilder

Happy Birthday, Than!

For your B-Day, Obama’s magnus opus “Dreams of My Father”.. of course, the recommendation only 🙂

James, thanks for the birthday wishes. I’ll be sure to run right out and pick it up!

6 11 2008
JDE

Happy B-day. Love ya, pray for you.
Re: BO, all we can do now is pray. The ‘cool’, historical factor would have been better had we elected a minority on his merits.

Thanks Jo. I’m not sure either of the candidates had very many merits. Maybe he’ll earn them!

Leave a Reply

