Things that I’ve been thinking….

24 08 2010

Recently I’ve run into a rash of people saying either, “it’s harder now than ever before”, or “you youngsters don’t know what hardship really is”.  Really?  I believe that when placed into proper context, it is neither easier or harder to do anything, now than it ever has been.  Let me explain…..

When this sentiment is expressed in regards to “living for God” it makes me want to vomit.  It is no harder or easier to live for God than it ever has been.  Young people like to take the position that their Pentecostal ancestors had it easier.  They say things like, “my parents didn’t have to deal with the sex, drugs and rock and roll”.  Youth pastors mistakenly enable their students by saying “I don’t know how you deal with it.”  Come on!  I have never had someone throw rotten tomatoes at me or consider me devil possessed because I speak in tongues.  Was it easier to live for God then?  Is it harder now?  The answer is no.  I may have some different, key word different, things that I have to deal with but they are not necessarily more difficult or easier than previous generations. 

On the other hand, I’m tired of being denigrated by people who say that their experience is harder than I have it.  Granted, I’ve always had air conditioning, nice clothes, a nice car, etc.  I’ve always attended a church that had a/c, was indoors, and on the “right side of the tracks”.  Does this make my experience with God less?  I’ve heard it suggested to be so.  It has been suggested that my relationship isn’t as deep because I didn’t “suffer” enough or sacrifice enough.  It’s insulting.  It’s offensive.  And I’m tired of it. 

I am incredibly thankful for the foundation that my ancestors laid.  I will always be grateful.  The things that we are doing now wouldn’t have ever been possible without the foundation that I mentioned earlier.  It is my intention to continue to build on that. 

It’s no easier.  It’s no harder.  Everyone has their own cross to bear.

Actions

Information

5 responses

24 08 2010
Karla

I TOTALLY and COMPLETELY agree!!!!

25 08 2010
Carla Clark

DITTO!!!

30 08 2010
ryanaustindean

*thumbs up*

Also, keep on blogging, my friend.

17 10 2010
Tanua Riley

I so agree !

6 11 2012
onipeace01

I totally agree with you. I am not seeing anything recent here, Than. i do hope u haven’t stopped blogging!

Leave a Reply

